Election of Chairman

Published: 05 May 2023

Cllr Mark Thomas and Cllr Jo Clark

At the Annual Town Council held on 4 May Cllr Mark Thomas was elected as Chairman of the Town Council and Cllr Jim Devlin was elected as Vice Chairman. Cllr Thomas joined the council in 2016 and has been a resident of Billericay since 1973. Cllr Thomas takes pride in the appearance of the town being a big supporter of environmental issues. Having recently retired Cllr Thomas said now was the time for him to give back to the community.

Councillors thanked Cllr Jo Clark for all her hard work on the Council during her year of office. Cllr Clark was chair during an unprecedented period of Royal events with the Platinum Jubilee Beacon lighting in June which was sadly followed three months later by the passing of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. Cllr Clark attended the Chantry Centre during the period of mourning, overseeing the book of condolence and talking to the many residents that came to sign the book.

Cllr Clark congratulated Cllr Thomas and wished him well in his role as Chairman of the Council.